Chemical Products
ARC Accelerating Rate Calorimeter
RSD Rapid Screening Device
µRC Micro Reaction Calorimeter
Webinars

Screening samples for exothermic reaction hazards with the THT Rapid Screening Device

Screening samples for exothermic reaction hazards with the THT Rapid Screening Device

08/03/2022

Tuesday 8th March 2022
3.00pm GMT UK | 10am EST USA | 4.00pm CET Europe

The THT RSD (Rapid Screening Device) is a low cost, versatile, and flexible, safety calorimeter for thermal and pressure hazard determination over a wide temperature range. Using temperature ramp methods with isothermal soak options the system quickly obtains temperature, pressure and heat of reaction data. The RSD uses a sample and a reference, allowing for subtraction of solvent/air thermal and pressure data. This uniquely allows the RSD to achieve significantly greater sensitivity compared with other, similar, screening instruments.

The presentation will cover
•    The RSD design
•    What differentiates the RSD from DSC
•    Use of reference -  differential analysis
•    Choice of sample holders to suit various applications
•    Overview of RSD Control and Analysis Software
•    RSD options including stirring, dosing, gas collection and cryogenic sub ambient operation

Speaker
Stephen Ottaway, Director of Operations, Thermal Hazard Technology
Stephen has worked at THT for 15 years and is a technical expert in Accelerating Rate Calorimetry. He holds an MBA from Henley Business School as well as a BSc (Hons) in Molecular Science. Stephen has a wealth of experience gained from installations and training THT’s ARC customers worldwide. In his current role Stephen oversees THT’s global business activity and development.

REGISTER TO BOOK YOUR PLACE